Caribbean Leeward Antilles Map

Bookmark and Share

Home > Caribbean Islands Travel Guide > Lesser Antilles >

Map of the Caribbean

The West Indies encompasses more than five thousand islands. This section of the guide concentrates exclusively on travelling in the Leeward Antilles region of the Caribbean which is situated in the southern area of the Caribbean Sea just above Venezuela.

The Leeward Antilles are divided into two groups of islands; the Dutch "ABC" islands of Aruba, Bonaire and Curacao; and the Venezuelan islands of Las Aves, Los Roques, Orchila, Tortuga and Magarita.

Aruba Travel Guide Curacao Travel Guide Bonaire Travel Guide Caribbean Leeward Antilles Map


This small chain of Islands form the southerly boundary of the Lesser Antilles and were part of what was commonly known as the Netherlands Antilles until they were disbanded in 2010. Sometimes confused with the Leeward Islands to the northeast due to a similar name, it will probably be many years before the name "Netherlands Antilles" is dropped from maps of the region.

The islands of the Leeward Antilles are mostly coral and fairly flat with little volcanic activity. They lie on the southern boundary of the Caribbean Plate which is slowly moving towards and under the South American Plate.

All text and images are Copyright Paradise Islands org


Link to this page from another website, blog or social networking site?

The URL of this page is:

Island Guides

Caribbean Time Zones

Aruba Map

Bonaire Map

Curacao Map